52 teams to participate in Under 17 Presidential Cup


Read more sports articles here

By  Enalla Mnyenyembe

Mzuzu, Northern Region Youth Football Committee (NRYFC) says 52 teams will participate in Under 17 Presidential Cup that kicked off Saturday in all the six districts of the region.

“NRYFC will kick off the under 17 league this weekend as we are now done with screening of all players from teams that are set to participate,” said NRYC general secretary Desire Bellings in an interview,

He said Chitipa has nine teams, Karonga seven, Rumphi eight, Mzimba six and Mzuzu 15.

“There are about 52 teams going to participate in the cup and winning team in each district will walk away with K200, 000 while the runners’ up will get K125, 000.

“Third teams will get the sum of K75, 000 each,” he said.

He said such tournaments play an important role in identification of players to represent the nation at international level.

“This cup has been there since 2016 and this league has produced lots of players, the likes of Patrick Mwaungulu,” he said.

Visit our Facebook page here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here