DD Sunshine defends presidential women’s championship


DD Sunshine women’s football club defeated Blantyre Zero to defend the presidential women’s national championship at a two days finals played at the Chiwembe stadium over the weekend.

The finals which comprised of DD Sunshine, Blantyre Zero and Moyale Sisters as the three winners at regional level and southern region runners up Mtopwa super Queens, saw the central region champions DD Sunshine cruise to the finals after defeating Mtopwa Super Queens 1-0 in the semifinals through a Gladys Banda lone goal.

Blantyre Zero booked themselves a place in the finals when they defeated Moyale sisters 4-1 in a crush of regional champions to face DD Sunshine in the finals. Zainab Kapanda and Vanessa Chikupira score a brace each for the southern region champions Blantyre Zero while Chipo Ngwenya scored the consolation goal for Moyale sisters.

In the finals on Sunday, DD Sunshine had a 3 – 1 win over Blantyre Zero to defend the championship they also won last year. Chisomo Banda and a brace from Fanny Mwale ensured the Lilongwe based side emerge winners while Mary Chavinda reduced the damage for Blantyre Zero.

Mtopwa Super Queens went home with k500,000 after defeating Moyale sisters in the third-place playoffs with goals from Saliva January, Grace Yotamu and a brace from Yamikani Mhango.

For being national champions, DD Sunshine received k3 million with the runners up pocketing k1 million.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here