Flames start world cup preps

Football association Malawi Flames logo
Football association Malawi Flames logo

Malawi national football team coach Meke Mwase has named a 33 member squad of local players to start preparations for the 2022 FIFA world cup qualifiers.

Mwase has given seven players their first call up to the Flames based on their performance in the TNM super league. The seven are William Thole, Lugano Kaira, Justice Chihoma, Francisco Madinga, Lloyd Njaliwa, Lackson Sangano and Emmanuel Muira.

Chimango Kayira has also been recalled to the team and maintained most of the players that went to the cosafa cup.

The team will go into camp on Sunday 11 August, with training commercing the following day.

Malawi will play Botswana back to back in the first week of September with the first leg on 7th September before hosting the Zebras three days later.

Below is the full squad.


  1. Brighton Munthali – Silver Strikers
  2. Charles Thom – Silver Strikers
  3. Rabson Chiyenda – Nyasa Big Bullets
  4. Enerst Kakhobwe – Nyasa Big Bullets
  5. William Thole – Be Forward Wanderers


  1. Charles Petrol – Nyasa Big Bullets
  2. Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
  3. Trevor Kalema – Silver Strikers
  4. Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
  5. Dennis Chembezi – Be Forward Wanderers
  6. Precious Sambani – Nyasa Big Bullets
  7. Haji Wali – Silver Strikers
  8. Gomezgani Chirwa- Nyasa Big Bullets
  9. Lugano Kaira – Mzuni football club
  10. Justice Chihoma – Chitipa United


  1. Mike Mkwate – Nyasa Big Bullets
  2. Chimwemwe Idana – Nyasa Big Bullets
  3. Chikoti Chirwa – Kamuzu Barracks
  4. Duncan Nyoni – Silver Strikers
  5. Peter Banda – Nyasa Big Bullets
  6. Micium Mhone – Blue Eagles
  7. Lackson Sangano – Mzuni football club
  8. Lloyd Njaliwa – Moyale Barracks
  9. Emmanuel Muira – Chitipa United
  10. Francisco Madinga – Be Forward Wanderers
  11. Alfred Manyozo jnr – Be forward Wanderers
  12. Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderers.
  13. Chimango Kayira – Nyasa Big Bullets


  1. Hassan Kajoke – Nyasa Big Bullets
  2. Stain Davie – TN stars
  3. Patrick Phiri – Nyasa Big Bullets
  4. Foster Bitoni – Blue Eagles
  5. Chikatiko Batisoni – Tigers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here