Learn 4 things you didn’t know about Africa. 


Read more facts here 

48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland and Western Sahara (see the list of African countries below).

  1. Smallest Country: Seychelles, which is an archipelago (nation of islands) in the Indian Ocean. On the African mainland, the smallest country is the Gambia. Read our Seychelles Facts here.
  2. Largest City: Lagos in Nigeria. With more than 21 million inhabitants, Lagos is also one of the six biggest metropolitan cities in the world.
  3. Largest Country: Algeria. The country is covering more than half the continent’s landmass. However, the most populous country is Nigeria, with more than 185 million people, but the country is only a third of the size of Algeria.
  4. There are more than 100 million Facebook users in Africa.

Read more facts about Africa

Visit our Facebook page here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here