Malawi, understanding the judicial, executive and legislative system

Malawi flag fingerprint
Malawi flag fingerprint

According to the world atlas, Malawi is among the smallest nations in Africa with a population of 17 million people.

It is a presidential representative democratic republic where the President of Malawi serves as both the head of the state and government of Malawi.
Malawi is a democratic country composed of multi-party system with three regions in it. The regions are divided into 28 districts, almost 250 traditional authorities and 110 administrative wards. It is well known that politics in Malawi is carried out in the circumstance of a presidential representative democratic republic. In the year 1995, the constitution of the republic of Malawi was put in place together with the three well-known branches of government namely. Judicial, executive and legislative.

It is compiled of Magistrates court, High court and Supreme Court of appeal. The High Court handles any civil or criminal case and it has a general division with hears from all the subordinate courts. These subordinate court include magistrate and local courts and industrial relations court which handles employment issues. Mostly, the subordinate courts deal with criminal cases except for murder and treason while the Supreme Court is composed of Chief justice and nine other justice. This interprets laws of Malawi and provides the process of resolving conflicts. The legal system that is used has been changed since the year 1969.

This is a branch of government that is led by the President who also happens to be the heads of government and the chief commander of the Defence force. The President is chosen through a direct election by the citizens of Malawi for a period of time. Meanwhile, the president is in position of choosing a vice president that is from any other party.
The cabinet ministers are appointed by the president and they can be drawn from within parliament or outside.

Under this, the National Assembly has 193 legislatures who are appointed to a five year term. The speaker heads the National Assembly and he is selected by the first members that is after the elections. The National Assembly is there to strengthen democracy and good governance in the country through duties like maintaining oversight of the executive and representing the interest of the components. Malawi is currently headed by President Arthur Peter Mutharika who was appointed in 2014.

READ – Malawi’s education challenges summarised in numbers


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here