According to research there are 45 landlocked countries in the world and 16 [36%] are in Africa. Is that more than any other continent?

What is a landlocked state or country?
It is a state or country totally enclosed by land, or whose only coast is on a closed sea.

Landlocked countries are generally politically and economically disadvantaged – as Malawians we know all about this! In history countries have fought at great costs for access to the sea to ensure economic prosperity – financial, political, bloodshed…

Here is a list of landlocked countries.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Andorra
  3. Armenia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belarus
  7. Bhutan
  8. Bolivia
  9. Botswana [Africa]
  10. Burkina Faso [Africa]
  11. Burundi [Africa]
  12. Central African Republic [Africa]
  13. Chad [Africa]
  14. Czech Republic
  15. Ethiopia [Africa]
  16. Hungary
  17. Kazakhstan
  18. Kosovo
  19. Kyrgyzstan
  20. Laos
  21. Lesotho [Africa]
  22. Liechtenstein
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Macedonia
  25. Malawi [Africa]
  26. Mali [Africa]
  27. Moldova
  28. Mongolia
  29. Nepal
  30. Niger [Africa]
  31. Paraguay
  32. Rwanda [Africa]
  33. San Marino
  34. Serbia
  35. Slovakia
  36. South Sudan [Africa]
  37. Swaziland [Africa]
  38. Switzerland
  39. Tajikistan
  40. Turkmenistan
  41. Uganda [Africa]
  42. Uzbekistan
  43. Vatican City
  44. Zambia [Africa]
  45. Zimbabwe [Africa]

Corinne Dupont

Married to an African, both of my children born in Africa, travelled extensively through Africa.. my soul is part of Africa. I write to inform, I write to make change, I write to educate.. I write in French, Spanish and English.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here