President Mutharika reclaims citizen number one status


The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) leader, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika has been ushered into power for the second term as president of the Republic of Malawi following his victory in the May 21 Tripartite Elections.

Speaking during the 12th press briefing at the national tally center in Blantyre aimed to update the nation on the election progress, Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Chairperson, Justice Dr. Jane Ansah said the results are a true reflection of the will of Malawians.

Ansah, a Senior Counsel and Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal, said Mutharika, amassed  1, 940, 709  votes out of the 6, 859, 570 votes cast representing 38.58 percent while his top contender, Malawi Congress Party President, Dr. Lazarus Chakwera scooped 1, 781, 740 representing 35.41 percent.

According to MEC, UTM leader, Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima has finished third with 1, 016, 368 votes representing 20.4 percent with Atupele Muluzi of United Democratic Front obtaining 236, 164 votes representing 4.67 percent while John Chisi of Umodzi Party bagged 19, 187 votes representing 0.31 percent, Mbakuwaku Movement for Development President, Peter Dominic Sinos Driver Kuwani came sixth with 20, 360 votes representing 0.40 percent and Revelend Hardwick Kaliya collected 15, 726 votes representing 0.21 percent of the total votes cast.

“The commission has thoroughly reviewed the anomalies presented by several stakeholders. By the powers invested in me on section 84 of the Malawi Constitution, I, Justice Dr. Jane Ansah, Judge of Appeal, hereby announce that;
“Candidate, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika, is the President elect of the Republic of Malawi following the May 21 2019 Tripartite Elections,” Ansah declared.

Ansah, therefore, urged the president-elect to uphold the laws of the country and serve the people without favor, adding that the results are not favoring any political party or particular candidate but that it was a true reflection of people’s will through the ballot.

“This is the decision of more than 6, 859, 570 Malawians who turned out in their large numbers and voted for the president of their choice and therefore serve them with diligence without favoring any section of society,” Ansah added.

Ansah also advised the president-elect to serve Malawians with a high sense of responsibility considering that he had been bestowed with the responsibility of leading the agenda of developing the nation.

“I would, therefore, like to congratulate the president-elect for making it in the fight; to those who have not made it, I would like to appeal that you take the failure with a humble heart because there will only be one winner at a time,” she said.

The May 21 Tripartite Elections is the second of its kind and sixth democratic elections since the country attained independence from the British rule on July 6, 1964. This is second consecutive win by Mutharika who came out victorious in the May 19, 2014 polls.

Meanwhile, there were wild celebrations by DPP supporters across the commercial city of Blantyre immediately MEC declared Mutharika the winner in the highly contested elections described as watershed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here