Simba Sc to face AS Vita and Zesco United in Kagame Cup 2019


Tanzania Premier league champions, Simba Sc along side Kagame Cup winners Azam FC will face newly added teams into Kagame Cup this year.

The added teams are AS Vita and Motema Pembe both from Congo, as well as Zesco United from Zambia.

Kagame Cup 2019 will kickoff in June 7 to 21 in Kigali, Rwanda.

Azam FC are the defending Champions and Simba SC goes in trying to take the Seventh Kagame Cup trophy for themselves.

Secretary general of CECAFA, Mr Nicholas Musonye said this years Kagame Cup will consist 18 teams and will last for two weeks.

“We received the confirmation from Zesco, AS Vita and Motema Pembe, that they will participate in this year tournament. They are big clubs and their participation will help out our teams to prepare for the CAF tournaments ( Champions league and confederation Cup) in next season,” said Musonye.

Rwanda football Federation said they want an official letter from CECAFA that explains about the additional teams in this year’s tournament.

Kagame Cup normally includes football clubs from Kenya, Rwanda, Zanzibar, Tanzania, Uganda, Somalia, Ethiopia, Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Sudan and South Sudan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here